A number of US Governors say no to Syrian Refugees

A number of United States governors said on Sunday and Monday that they will not be accepting any Syrian refugees in light of the horrific terrorist attacks in Paris involving a suicide bomber who passed through the Greek Islands and hid within the refugee population.


Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, North Carolina, Texas and Wisconsin are on a growling list of of Republican run states that will not accept Syrian refugees, including the democratic lead state of New Hampshire.


President Barack Obama remains firm in his commitment to admitting Syrian refugees citing that they will go through a rigorous vetting process.


In a speech at at a press conference in Turkey, President Obama said the we must “remember that many of these refugees are the victims of terrorism themselves”.  Obama added, “Slamming the door in their faces would be a betrayal of our values. Our nations can welcome refugees who are desperately seeking safety and ensure our own security. We can and must do both”.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s